How to View Two PowerPoints Side-by-side (dual or single monitor setup)

I have two monitors at work, and I could not figure out how to view PowerPoints side-by-side, so that I could update items faster.  It was very aggravating, but it was something I hadn’t ever bothered “wasting the time” to find.

Although this tip is best with two monitors, it does work with just one.  This does not give you two independent ribbons.

This morning I decided I would finally figure out one way or the other whether I could ever show PowerPoints next to each other.  After about 10 minutes of playing around and a quick search, I found the answers:

1. Use the Maximize/Restore Down button (it’s the icon next to the X in the top-right corner of any window).  (Note:  if using only one monitor, make sure your screen is Maximized instead)

2. Manually drag the window across both monitors so that PowerPoint spans across both screens.

3. Open both PowerPoints (you can do this with more, but we’re just setting up two).

4. In the “View” ribbon, click the Arrange All button.

Your PowerPoints will be displayed side-by-side.  Like Presenter Mode, you can still view a slideshow on each monitor, but this makes both monitors editable.

I can’t begin to say how much this will help me out!

9 thoughts on “How to View Two PowerPoints Side-by-side (dual or single monitor setup)

Leave a Reply

