What does SCORM mean?

Ever wondered what SCORM means?  This morning, my husband asked what SCORM stands for.  I couldn’t remember off the top of my head, so of course the first thing to do is to go to Google.

My google search returned http://scorm.com/scorm-explained/ .  I love this page!  However, scorm.com is actually some company’s website that is not a sanctioned SCORM standards group.  They sell stuff – I was disappointed.  I didn’t look at what they sell. But check out their SCORM page (or their stuff for sale, if you so desire).  It’s an easy-to-understand explanation of SCORM.

I then looked at the ADL site, http://www.adlnet.gov/capabilities/scorm but it isn’t as easy to understand.  However, the extra detail found on the Current Projects tab of the site gave me a great understanding of the different versions of SCORM – we are using 1.2 where I work.

Did you know a project called “Tin Can” is currently underway?  I haven’t read it all yet, but http://tincanapi.wikispaces.com/Tin+Can+API+Specification is the wiki group working on it.  Great info!  I love running into something completely foreign to me.

I don’t really think this will help me be a better Instructional Designer (you never know what little tidbit will help, though!), but it satisfied my curiosity for the morning 🙂

Leave a Reply

