How to make the ‘X’ in front of your (telephone) extension stay lowercase

The “x” in front of my telephone extension automatically capitalizing when I type it is an annoyance that I waited four years before fixing, though I’ve known how to fix it since before blogs were invented. I’m going to share this simple fix to prevent this from happening, either in an Outlook signature or elsewhere that you may need to add your telephone extension.

One fix is to add a second signature, but that will only correct the problem in Microsoft Outlook. This fix will correct my extension in all of Microsoft Office.

Disclaimer: There are a million and one ways to do this. Do you have a recommendation that could make me more efficient? Let me know in the comments!

The problem:

When I type my extension, Microsoft Office “corrects” the X in front of my extension to a capital letter. I do not like the way that looks, eg:

I want:   x5555
I get:     X5555

Why does it do this?

Autocorrect has an option to automatically capitalize the first letter of a sentence. If the extension is on its own line, Office assumes the X is the start of the first word of a sentence, and it automatically corrects it to uppercase. Since I want it to automatically capitalize the start of sentences, I do not want to change that setting.

The solution:

Add an entry to autocorrect that will fix this for you.

In a Microsoft Office application (Word, Excel, PowerPoint):

  1. Click the Office button in the top-left corner
  2. Click the Options buttonpowerpoint options button
  3. Click the Proofing tab (on the left)
  4. Click the Autocorrect button
    autocorrect button

    autocorrect entry

  5. In the Replace field, add X5555 (the incorrect one)
  6. In the With field, add x5555 (the corrected one)
  7. Click Add, and then Click OK
  8. Click OK to get out of Options

That’s it! Any time you type your extension, Office will first autocorrect the X to capitalize it, but when you type the entire extension, it will autocorrect the X to lowercase.

 

Leave a Reply

